Identifying And Reporting Child Abuse And Neglect
- Date: This online course is self-paced. Please disregard any mention of a specific date and time.
- Time: 12:00 AM
- Cost: $30 USD
- Hours: 2
- Location: Link to Course
- Instructor: N/A
Professionals who come into contact with children in the course of their everyday activities play a vital role in identifying and assisting children who are victims of abuse or neglect. As a result, New York State law requires these professionals (e.g. teachers, physicians, nurses, social workers, etc.) to take a course on identifying and reporting child abuse and neglect so that they are informed of the law and their responsibility. This two-hour training, self-paced, online course, approved by the New York State Department of Education, teaches mandated reporters how to identify signs of abuse and neglect and understand their legal obligations for reporting. Participants will learn how to evaluate situations to determine if there is reasonable cause to suspect child abuse and maltreatment/neglect and, if so, the proper steps to report it. Through lecture, discussion, and practical application, participants will leave the workshop better prepared to handle child protection issues that arises. If working in New York State, participants have the option to receive a certification of completion recognized by the New York State Department of Education.
Donating $10,000 provides approximately 150 hours of Trauma Recovery counseling for children, who have experienced physical abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, and domestic violence.Donate